Creamed Spinach and Sweetcorn

Creamy spinach and sweetcorn on almond bread

Creamy spinach and sweetcorn on almond bread

Breakfast has proved to be a rather difficult meal for me, since I gave up wheat. I did a search for gluten free breakfasts on-line, and was treated to a list of high calorie foods utilizing large amounts of starch. I don’t care for the commercial GF cereals on the market, as so far they’ve proved to be too sweet, lacking in substance and nutritional virtue, or too high in calories. Muffins are a decadence to be had with afternoon tea (and I prefer savory stuff anyway), and I suspect that I don’t get on with oats, so oatmeal/porridge is out of the question (though I am experimenting with quinoa porridge). I like tofu (especially scrambled tofu), but I don’t want that every day, and I would blow up like a balloon, if I were to indulge in tofu rancheros every day.

Creamed Spinach with Pasta

Creamed Spinach with Pasta tossed with garlic oil: Comfort Food

I like baked beans on toasted almond bread, and I like this spinach. I don’t stop at breakfast with this, though. I also like it on its own for lunch, or stuffed into galettes or baked potatoes, or inside a burrito, or under scrambled tofu, or sometimes even with pasta and a sprinkling of seaweed (yes, I know it sounds weird, but try it)! It’s a comfort food.

I’m inclined to say, “nothing fancy here.. Just breakfast for one,” but that would belie just how much I like it. However, if you don’t like spinach, then read no further.

It’s rather difficult to eat 8 oz of raw spinach, due to volume, but cooked spinach is another matter, and my 8 oz of spinach gives me about 6 grams of protein and 6 grams of fiber (according to the information on the back of the package) all on its own. This version is warming with the nutmeg and pepper, and spinach’s sometimes harsh edge is tempered with the cream cheez.

8 oz chopped frozen spinach
1/4 cup frozen sweetcorn
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 tsp salt
couple of dashes of ground nutmeg
1 oz vegan cream cheese

Heat the sweetcorn and spinach until it has wilted/thawed and given up and evaporated its released liquid.

Stir in the other ingredients, and serve as is, or on toasted almond bread.

I'd love to hear from you. :-)

