Lima Bean Salad

I’ve managed a relatively laid back day today. We went for breakfast out and about this morning, and didn’t need to eat until this evening, which rather freed me from the kitchen for the day. Don’t get me wrong; I love cooking, but every now and again, I like a break.

However, all I could bring myself to make for dinner this evening was my Lima Bean Salad. I couldn’t believe that it wasn’t already on the blog! Mild tasting baby lima beans; rich, salty, black olives; slightly sweet vinaigrette; a bit of a tang from red onion slivers; we tend to eat it just as it is without much in the way of an accompaniment, but I confess I find it even better the next day between two slices of almond bread.

Lima Bean Salad with Vegan Almond bread.

Lima Bean Salad with Vegan Almond bread, as the sun goes down.

2 tblsp olive/flax oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tbsp orange muscat champagne vinegar, or other mild salad vinegar
1 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp mild mustard (optional – I use French honey Dijon)

2 tins baby lima beans, drained
2 fresh tomatoes, diced, or equal amount of baby tomatoes
1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes preserved in oil, drained (optional)
1/4 – 1/2 red onion, diced
1 avocado, skinned and diced
large handful of Greek black olives, not the tasteless Californian variety, halved
8 oz baby spinach, sliced Romaine, or mixed leaves, washed
sugar snap or French green beans, lightly steamed (optional)

Whisk salad dressing ingredients together in a large salad bowl with a fork. Add the remaining salad ingredients, and toss gently to coat with the dressing.

I'd love to hear from you. :-)

