Vegan Bailey’s Irish Cream

Oh, I’ve missed this! Before children came along, and the realization that I couldn’t consume dairy products had materialized, the ultimate self-indulgence for me was to spend an evening on my own, poring over a jigsaw puzzle, and drinking Bailey’s Irish Cream. A couple of years ago, friends brought a bottle over as part of a dinner party, and all I could do was look sadly at it. Not so any more. This version is thick and creamy, festive and comforting; just right for the on-coming holiday season. Note that this mixture thickens as it sits, and you should either drink it immediately (poured over ice-cubes to chill), or expect to have to adjust the consistency with water or brandy (your choice).

Cashew Bailey's

1 1/2 cup water
1 1/2 cup raw cashews
6 tbsp soft brown sugar
6 tbsp brandy

Put all ingredients into a blender (preferably high speed), and blend until smooth.

Chill in the fridge until required. Adjust consistency with water/brandy if required.

Serve in sherry glasses, or in a tumbler on the rocks.

Happy Holidays! ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Vegan Bailey’s Irish Cream

  1. Diana says:

    Looking forward to trying this. Does it take RAW cashews?

    Cheers,
    Diana

    • Absolutely. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for pointing that out. I’ll put it right in the recipe. Just so as you know, this makes more than a girl should drink on her own in one night … even though I might be tempted to try! Sarah

  2. Diana says:

    I think it might also like a drop of coconut extract. My old cream-based recipe (that I can’t use anymore) called for that. But I’ll try it without first. ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear from you. :-)

